ALQST express its deep concern at the findings of the Secretary General’s latest annual report on reprisals and intimidation against individuals cooperating with UN human rights mechanisms. The report, which was presented by UN Assistant Secretary-General (ASG) Andrew Gilmour on 19 September 2019, highlights the pattern of intimidation and reprisals by the authorities in Saudi Arabia.

UN Assistant Secretary-General (ASG) Andrew Gilmour presenting the latest report

The report describes reprisals taken against Saudi women human rights defenders Loujain al-Hathloul, who cooperated with the Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) in 2018, and Samar Badawi, who gave a statement at the Human Rights Council in 2014. 

Both have faced arrest, torture, and are still being held arbitrarily for their activism and UN engagement. They are currently facing trial, along with eleven other women activists, on charges including cooperating with the UN and human rights defenders such as ALQST Director Yahya Assiri. Some were also interrogated about Mr Assiri, including his engagement with the UN Human Rights Council.  

The report also mentions the continued reprisals against other human rights defenders, such as the ill-treatment in prison against Mohammed al-Qahtani, Essa al-Nukheifi, and Fowzan al-Harbi, including the denial of medical treatment, being placed in solitary confinement, and denied family visits. These individuals were sentenced to long-term jail terms on charges relating to their activism and cooperation with the UN. 

Such cases, which were included in previous UN reports, show a consistent pattern of intimidation and reprisals by the authorities in Saudi Arabia, and are part of a sweeping crackdown against human rights defenders and civil society members. 

ALQST calls for the immediate and unconditional release of all prisoners of conscience in Saudi Arabia, including those imprisoned and ill-treated as a result of their engagement with the UN, and supports calls for a more comprehensive system for preventing intimidation and reprisals, including for the establishment of UN monitoring mechanism over the human rights situation in Saudi Arabia.

Categories: News

تعبر القسط عن قلقها من استنتاجات التقرير السنوي للأمين العام للأمم المتحدة حول أعمال التخويف والانتقام المرتكبة بحق المتعاونين مع آليات حقوق الإنسان التابعة للأمم المتحدة. يسلط التقرير الذي قدَّمه مساعد الأمين العام أندرو غيلمور يوم 19 سبتمبر 2019 الضوء على نسق أعمال التخويف والانتقام الذي تمارسها السلطات في السعودية.

مساعد الأمين العام أندرو غيلمور أثناء تقديمه التقرير الأخير.

يصف التقرير أعمال الانتقام التي اتُّخِذت ضد المدافعات عن حقوق الإنسان السعوديات، لجين الهذلول التي تعاونت مع اتفاقية القضاء على جميع أشكال التمييز ضد المرأة (سيداو) في 2018، وسمر بدوي التي ألقت كلمة أثناء مجلس حقوق الإنسان في 2014.

كلاهما تعرضتا للاعتقال والتعذيب وما تزالان رهن الاحتجاز التعسفي نتيجة نشاطهن وتعاونهن مع الأمم المتحدة. تواجه الناشطتان اليوم المحاكمة مع 11 ناشطات أخريات، وتجوه إليهن تهم تتضمن التعاون مع الأمم المتحدة والمدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان مثل مدير القسط يحيى عسيري. تم التحقيق مع بعضهن أيضًا عن السيد عسيري، بما في ذلك تعامله مع مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة.

يذكر التقرير أيضًا أعمال الانتقام المستمرة ضد غيرهم من نشطاء حقوق الإنسان، مثل سوء المعاملة الذي تعرض له محمد القحطاني، عيسى النخيفي، وفوزان الحربي في السجن، بما في ذلك الحرمان من العلاج الطبي، والحبس في الانفرادي، والحرمان من الزيارة الأسرية. أنزل على هؤلاء النشطاء أحكام طويلة بتهم تتعلق بنشاطهم وتعاونهم مع الأمم المتحدة.

مثل هذه الحالات التي قُدِّمت في التقارير السابقة للأمم المتحدة تبين نسقًا ثابتًا لأعمال التخويف والانتقام من قِبل السلطات السعودية، وهي جزءٌ من حملات قمعية أوسع استهدفت المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان ونشطاء المجتمع المدني.

تطالب القسط بالإفراج المباشر وغير المشروط عن كل سجناء الرأي في السعودية، بمن فيهم الذين تعرضوا للحجز وسوء المعاملة نتيجة تعاونهم مع الأمم المتحدة، وتؤيد المطالبات بإنشاء منظومة أشمل تمنع أعمال التخويف والانتقام، بما في ذلك تأسيس آلية مراقبة تابعة للأمم المتحدة على وضع حقوق الإنسان في السعودية.

Categories: أخبار