Qatar extradites activist to Saudi after Norway grants asylum

Qatar extradites activist to Saudi after Norway grants asylum

عربي

IMG_1127
Qatar has extradited the prominent Saudi human rights defender Mohammed bin Abdullah al-Otaibi to Saudi Arabia, after Norway accepted his application for political asylum.  Otaibi was arrested at Doha International Airport on Wednesday, May 24, 2017 as he was about to travel with his wife to Norway, on travel documents provided by the Norwegians.  Days later, on Sunday, May 28 at 3 a.m., Otaibi was deported overland to Saudi Arabia via the Salwa border crossing and delivered to the Saudi authorities, who sent him with an escort of Saudi security vehicles to the Dammam Prisons Department.

 

Otaibi was previously detained in Saudi Arabia for engaging in legitimate civil actions without committing any criminal act.  On January 1, 2009 he and other activists were arrested for taking part in a peaceful demonstration.  On that occasion he spent nearly four years in prison, including two months in solitary confinement cut off from contact with the outside world.  Since the activity Otaibi had engaged in, and for which he was punished, was a legitimate civil action, the UN Working Group on Arbitrary Detention determined at its 61st Session (from August 29 to September 2, 2011) that Otaibi’s detention violated Article 9 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, had no basis in law that justified depriving Otaibi of his liberty, and, in the view of the Working Group, constituted an arbitrary action without legal basis and in contravention and violation of a number of his basic rights.
In December 2016 Otaibi, together with Abdullah al-Atawi, another activist, was again brought before the Specialised Criminal Court (SCC) that handles terrorism cases.  All of the charges infringed his basic rights, most notably the charge of helping to establish a human rights association (the Union for Human Rights, UHR).  At the first hearing in their trial before the SCC, on October 30, 2016, charges were brought against the two men in connection with their peaceful activism and freedom of expression, the main charge being that of establishing a human rights association, the UHR.  They were also accused of publishing statements about human rights, which the public prosecutor viewed as encroaching on the prerogatives of governmental and civic organisations, namely the Saudi Human Rights Commission and the National Society for Human Rights.  The public prosecutor considered that publishing reports on human rights, communicating with the media and international rights organisations, being present at the guesthouse of the detained activist Dr Abdullah al-Hamid, and retweeting messages on Twitter were crimes worthy of punishment.
Given that Otaibi, Atawi and their associates closed down the UHR and ceased their activism in return for undertakings not to put them on trial — in May 2013 the founders of the UHR received a letter from the Ministry of Social Affairs rejecting their application to set up the association, refusing to grant it a licence and making the founders undertake to close it down and not carry out any of its activities — the case against them for founding the UHR can be considered closed, having been resolved at that time.  The Saudi authorities, however, reopened the case and systematically set about retrying and resentencing all of the activists involved.  Hearings in the trial are still continuing, with the next session scheduled for July 12, 2017, at which the verdict may be announced.
At the beginning of March 2017 Otaibi went to Qatar and applied for asylum based on Article 58 of the Qatari Constitution, which prohibits the extradition of political refugees and provides for the protection of refugees, as well as on the Arab Charter on Human Rights, Article 28 of which states: “Everyone has the right to seek political asylum in another country in order to escape persecution. This right shall not be enjoyed by persons facing prosecution for an offence under the ordinary law. Political refugees may not be extradited.”  He also applied to the Office of the UN High Commissioner for Refugees.  However the Qatari authorities did not grant him asylum, and the UNHCR failed to carry out its duties.  ALQST contacted the Qatari authorities and the National Human Rights Committee in the State of Qatar, as well as the UNHCR, to urge them to shoulder their responsibilities and protect Mohammed al-Otaibi from returning to Saudi Arabia, where he had been subjected to imprisonment and torture.        
In statements attributed to an official source in the Qatari foreign ministry and broadcast by Al Jazeera, the Qatari authorities said the State of Qatar had extradited Otaibi to Saudi Arabia on the basis of judicial cooperation between the two countries, and that the extradition had been carried out in accordance with legal procedures and international agreements concerning the extradition of suspects and criminals.
ALQST insists that there is no legal basis for what the Qatari authorities have said.  Their claim to be observing legal procedures and international agreements concerning the extradition of suspects and criminals shows nothing but contempt for international law, a willingness to disregard the Qatari Constitution and endanger the lives of activists, and a deliberate blurring of the difference between human rights activism and acts of criminality.  ALQST strongly condemns and deplores the Qataris’ action and calls on the international community to hold the Qatari and Saudi authorities fully responsible for Otaibi’s safety.
ALQST also condemns the failure of the UNHCR, and specifically its offices in Abu Dhabi and Riyadh, to carry out its duties.  It calls on UN agencies not to put political interests above the tasks they are mandated to perform and the rights they have a duty to protect.
ALQST affirms that the activism in which Otaibi engaged was legitimate civic activism directed toward supporting human rights, and that the Saudi authorities must release him immediately and dismiss the political trial that Otaibi, his colleague Atawi and other activists have been facing.  ALQST calls for pressure on the Saudi authorities to stop persecuting activists and exploiting the judicial system in their own interests, and it calls for dissolution of the illegitimate Specialised Criminal Court.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

سلطات قطر تعتقل الناشط البارز محمد العتيبي وتسلمه للسعودية بعد حصوله على لجوء في النرويج

سلطات قطر تعتقل الناشط البارز محمد العتيبي وتسلمه للسعودية بعد حصوله على لجوء في النرويج

English

IMG_1127

سلطات قطر تعتقل الناشط البارز محمد العتيبي وتسلمه للسعودية بعد حصوله على لجوء في النرويج

 

في الرابع والعشرون من مايو 2017 قامت السلطات القطرية باعتقال الناشط السعودي محمد بن عبدالله العتيبي من مطار الدوحة أثناء توجهه برفقة زوجته للسفر إلى النرويج التي حصل على أوراق سفر ولجوء لديها. وفي الثامن والعشرون من مايو وعند الساعة الثالثة فجرًا تم ترحيل العتيبي عبر منفذ سلوى الحدودي وتسليمه للسلطات السعودية التي أرسلته مع سيارات أمنية سعودية إلى سجون الدمام.

 

محمد بن عبدالله العتيبي مدافع سعودي بارز عن حقوق الإنسان في المملكة العربية السعودية، وقد تعرض للاعتقال في السعودية جراء أعمال مدنية مشروعة قام بها دون ارتكاب عمل مُجرم، ففي الأول من يناير لعام 2009 تم اعتقاله مع نشطاء آخرين بتهمة الشروع في تظاهر سلمي، و بقي حينها في السجن لقرابة الأربعة أعوام، منها شهرين في حبس انفرادي بمعزل عن الاتصال بالعالم الخارجي، وكون العمل الذي قام به العتيبي والذي عوقب من أجله هو عمل مدني مشروع، فإن الفريق الأممي العامل المعني بالاحتجاز التعسفي في دورته الحادية والستين المعقودة في الفترة 29 أغسطس حتى 2 سبتمبر من العام 2011 قد رأى أن اعتقال العتيبي انتهاك للمادة التاسعة من الإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان، وأنه لا يعتمد على أساس قانوني يسوغ حرمان العتيبي من حريته، وأن احتجاز العتيبي من الأساس ووفق رأي الفريق الأممي هو إجراء تعسفي لا يستند على أساس قانوني ويخالف وينتهك عدد من حقوقه المشروعة.

 

وفي ديسمبر من العام المنصرم 2016، تمت إحالة العتيبي مع الناشط الآخر عبدالله العطاوي مجددًا للمحكمة الجزائية المتخصصة والمختصة في شؤون الإرهاب، وذلك وفق تهم كلها تمس حقوق العتيبي المشروعة، أبرزها مساهمته في تأسيس جمعية تعنى بحقوق الإنسان (جمعية الاتحاد)، وفي 29 محرم 1438 الموافق 30 أكتوبر 2016 عقدت الجلسة الأولى من المحاكمة في المحكمة الجزائية المتخصصة، ووجهت للناشطين تهمًا تتعلق بنشاطهما السلمي وبحرية التعبير عن الرأي، وكانت أهم التهم تأسيس جمعية حقوقية (جمعية الاتحاد لحقوق الإنسان)، ووجهت لهما تهم بنشر بيانات حول حقوق الإنسان وهذا ما اعتبره المدعي العام تعدي على اختصاص مؤسسات حكومية وأهلية (هيئة حقوق الإنسان، والجمعية الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان)، واعتبر المدعي العام نشر التقارير الحقوقية والتواصل مع الإعلام والمنظمات، والحضور إلى استراحة الناشط المعتقل الدكتور عبدالله الحامد، و إعادة تغريد بعض التغريدات على تويتر، جرائم تستحق العقوبة.

 

علمًا بأن العتيبي والعطاوي ورفاقهما قد قاموا بإغلاق الجمعية وإيقاف نشاطها مقابل تعهدات تمنعهم من المحاكمة، وفي رجب من العام 1434، مايو 2013 تلقى المؤسسون لجمعية الاتحاد خطابًا من وزارة الشؤون الاجتماعية ردًا على طلب تأسيس الجمعية، وقد رفضت الوزارة التصريح للجمعية الحقوقية، ثم أخذ على المؤسسين التعهدات بحل الجمعية وعدم ممارسة نشاطها، وبهذا أغلقت قضية تأسيس الجمعية الاتحاد لحقوق الإنسان في حينه، إلا أن السلطات السعودية أعادت فتح القضية في عمل منظم لإعادة كل النشطاء للمحاكمات وللسجون، ولا تزال جلسات المحاكمة مستمرة, وقد حدد 12 يوليو القادم موعدًا للجلسة القادمة والتي قد تكون جلسة النطق بالحكم.

 

وفي بداية مارس 2017 توجه العتيبي إلى قطر، ثم تقدم بطلب لجوء في قطر مستندًا على الدستور القطري في مادته الثامنة والخمسين الذي يحظر تسليم اللاجئين السياسيين، وينص على حماية اللاجئين، واستند كذلك على الميثاق العربي لحقوق الإنسان وبما جاء في مادته الثامنة والعشرون والتي تنص على أن:

“لكل شخص الحق في طلب اللجوء السياسي إلى بلد آخر هربا من الاضطهاد ولا ينتفع بهذا الحق من يجري تتبعه من أجل جريمة تهم الحق العام ولا يجوز تسليم اللاجئين السياسيين”. كما تقدم بطلب لدى المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين، إلا أن السلطات القطرية لم تمنح العتيبي اللجوء، وكذلك فإن المفوضية السامية تقاعست عن القيام بمهامها، وقد تواصلت القسط بالسلطات القطرية وباللجنة الوطنية لحقوق الإنسان في دولة قطر وكذلك بالمفوضية السامية لشؤون اللاجئين لحثهم على تحمل مسؤولياتهم وحماية محمد العتيبي من العودة للسعودية التي قد تعرضه للسجن والتعذيب.

 

السلطات القطرية وعبر تصريحات منسوبة لمصدر مسؤول في وزارة الخارجية القطرية بثتها الجزيرة، قالت أن دولة قطر سلمت العتيبي للسعودية استنادًا إلى التعاون القضائي بين البلدين، وأن التسليم استند إلى إلى الإجراءات القانونية والاتفاقيات الدولية ذات الصلة بتسليم المتهمين والمجرمين.

 

القسط تؤكد أن ماقالته السلطات القطرية لا يوجد له أي مستند قانوني، وأن ما تعذرت به من إجراءات قانونية واتفاقات دولية لتسليم المتهمين والمجرمين ليس إلا تهاون بالقوانين الدولية، وتعريض لحياة النشطاء للخطر، وتجاوز للدستور القطري، وخلط متعمد للنشاط الحقوقي والجرائم الجنائية، والقسط إذ توضح هذا لتدين وتستنكر وبشدة التصرف القطري وتدعوا المجتمع الدولي إلى تحميل السلطات القطرية والسعودية المسؤولية الكاملة عن سلامة العتيبي.

كما تدين القسط تقاعس المفوضية السامية للأمم المتحدة لشؤون اللاجئين وخاصة مكتبيها في أبوظبي والرياض، وتدعو القسط المؤسسات الأممية إلى عدم تقديم المصالح السياسية علي الأعمال المناطة بها والحقوق الواجب عليهم حمايتها.

وتؤكد القسط أن النشاط الذي قام به العتيبي هو نشاط مدني مشروع يصب في دعم حقوق الإنسان، وأن الواجب على السلطات السعودية الإفراج الفوري عنه، وإسقاط المحاكمة السياسية التي يتعرض لها ورفيقه عبدالله العطاوي ونشطاء آخرون، وتدعوا القسط إلى الضغط على السلطات السعودية للتوقف عن مطاردة النشطاء، وقمع الحريات، وتوظيف القضاء لصالح السلطات، وتدعوا لحل المحكمة الجزائية المتخصصة وذلك كونها محكمة غير قانونية.

 

 

 

Print Friendly