Prisoners tortured for posting videos

Prisoners tortured for posting videos

عربي

Screen Shot 2017-05-16 at 4.28.23 pm

ALQST has learned of a number of prison inmates being moved to solitary confinement and subjected to beatings and torture after recording and posting video clips about what they have witnessed inside Saudi jails.

 

In their videos, the prisoners talked about the black market operating inside jails, and the way the authorities allow forbidden items into prisons and then later confiscate them.  They talked about the beatings, torture and humiliation they had undergone, and the lack of any means of appealing to higher authorities or lodging complaints against their abusers.  They talked about the absence of human rights, and said they had never seen any of the government or quasi-governmental bodies that the authorities claim deal with human rights.  They talked about the administrative problems caused by papers and documentary evidence going astray, and other difficulties they faced, such as water cut-offs and non-delivery of their clothes and personal items.  They also spoke of health problems and failures to ensure medical treatment.  One prisoner spoke of being denied a visit to his mother who has thrombosis.

 

These videos were recorded at same the time that the UN Special Rapporteur on counter-terrorism and human rights was on an inspection visit to Saudi Arabia on behalf of the international community.  The Special Rapporteur said the authorities had prevented him from going into several of the places he had asked to visit, and from meeting a number of activists he had asked to meet.  He criticised the Saudi authorities’ use of terrorism as a pretext for widescale abuses of human rights, and criticised the Saudi counter-terrorism law for classifying civil action and peaceful protest as terrorist activity.  Some Saudi newspapers commented that the UN Special Rapporteur on counter-terrorism did not properly understand the meaning of terrorism.

On a separate note, ALQST has learned of the death of prisoner A . M . H in a section of Buraidah Prison.  It has also learned of a number of inmates being interrogated after ALQST published a statement concerning the spread of TB in Saudi jails, the resulting announcements and visits to prisons, and the authorities’ failure to combat the spread of the disease and protect prison inmates.

 

ALQST has reported previously that Saudi prisons are rife with crime, drugs, torture and mistreatment of inmates, inadequate healthcare and maladministration.  It has previously reported a number of deaths of prisoners that resulted from maladministration leading to fights that claimed the lives of innocent individuals, or from diseases and poor healthcare.  It has likewise published accounts of the administrative difficulties created for prisoners who have come to the end of their custodial sentences but are not released because, the authorities claim, their paperwork has gone astray.  ALQST has also reported on corruption and bribery within the prison system, and the sums of money extorted from prisoners in payment for banned items that are smuggled in or even for permitted items, or in order to secure certain services or rights.

 

Singling out prisoners for beatings, torture and solitary confinement for recording and posting videos in which they testified to their mistreatment is further proof, on top of the authorities’ refusal to allow the Special Rapporteur on counter-terrorism and human rights to visit certain prisons, and the numerous testimonies that ALQST and others have documented and are published from time to time, of the poor conditions in Saudi prisons.  It further demonstrates that the Saudi authorities are not serious about protecting prisoners’ lives and dignity.  They just want to make cosmetic improvements in a few prison wings that they can use as model prisons, to show visitors who do not understand the purpose of prison visiting and let the authorities decide the time and place of visits, so that they write about their contrived visits without realising what goes on deep within Saudi jails.

 

ALQST would like to remind the Saudi authorities that activists are no longer the only ones monitoring and documenting human rights violations.  What these prisoners did is contributing to the work of promoting and protecting human rights.  The lack of freedom to undertake civil and human rights activity within Saudi Arabia means that prisoners and abuse victims themselves are now documenting and publicising what they are suffering, in a bold and pioneering move.  The authorities should be trying to contain it by tackling the problems they are documenting rather than cracking down on them again, as they continue to do with human rights activists.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

تعذيب عدد من السجناء بسبب نشر مقاطع فيديو

تعذيب عدد من السجناء بسبب نشر مقاطع فيديو

English

prisoners-tortured-for-posting-videos

علمت القسط عن تحويل عدد من السجناء إلى الحبس الإنفرادي وتعرضهم للضرب والتعذيب بعد تسجيل ونشر مقاطع فيديو عن ما شاهدوه في داخل السجون.

 

تحدث السجناء عن السوق السوداء داخل السجون، وطريقة السلطات السعودية في إدخال الممنوعات إلى داخل السجون ومن ثم مصادرتها لاحقًا، وتحدثوا عن الضرب والتعذيب والإهانة التي يتعرضون لها، وانعدام سبل التواصل مع الجهات العليا أو تسجيل شكاوى ضد المنتهكين، وتحدثوا عن انعدام حقوق الإنسان، وعدم رؤيتهم لأي من الجهات الحكومية أو شبه الحكومية التي تدعي السلطات أنها تختص في حقوق الإنسان، وتحدثوا عن الإشكال الإداري المتمثل في فقدان الوثائق والمستندات، والمصاعب الأخرى التي يتعرضون لها، كانقطاع الماء، وعدم وصول ملابسهم وحاجياتهم الخاصة بهم، وكذلك وعن الإشكال الصحي والقصور في تأمين العلاج، وتحدث أحدهم عن حرمانه من زيارة والدته المصابة بالجلطة.

 

كما أن هذه المقاطع تم تسجيلها في ذات الفترة التي كان فيها المقرر الدولي الخاص المعني بشؤون الإرهاب وحقوق الإنسان في زيارة إلى السعودية، وقد ذكر المقرر أن السلطات منعته -وهو المفتش الدولي- من الدخول إلى عدد من الأماكن التي طلب زيارتها، كما منعته من لقاء عدد من النشطاء الذين طلب اللقاء بهم، وانتقد المقرر استخدام السلطات السعودية ذريعة الإرهاب لانتهاك حقوق الإنسان على نطاق واسع، وانتقد قانون مكافحة الإرهاب الذي يصنف العمل المدني والاحتجاج السلمي بأنه عمل إرهابي، وعلقت صحف سعودية بأن المقرر المعني بشؤون الإرهاب لا يعرف تحديدًا ما الذي يعنيه الإرهاب.

 

وفي حدث آخر، علمت القسط عن وفاة السجين ع . م . ح في شعبة سجن بريدة، كما علمت القسط عن التحقيق مع عدد من السجناء بعد نشر القسط بيانًا لها عن انتشار مرض الدرن والبلاغات التي قدمت نتيجة ذلك والزيارات التي حدثت في السجون وتقاعس السلطات في مكافحته وحماية السجناء.

 

القسط في تقارير سابقة أكدت أن السجون السعودية تعج بالجرائم والمخدرات والتعذيب وسوء المعاملة ونقص الرعاية الصحية وسوء الإدارة، ونشرت القسط سابقًا عن وفاة عدد من السجناء نتيجة لسوء الإدارة التي أدت لمضاربات راح ضحيتها أبرياء، أو نتيجة أمراض ونقص في الرعاية الصحية، ونشرت كذلك عن الإشكال الإداري الذي راح ضحيته سجناء يقضون مدد تتجاوز محكومياتهم بسبب ما تدعي السلطات بأنه فقدان لأوراقهم، وكذلك عن الفساد والرشاوى والمبالغ التي يتم ابتزاز السجناء بها سواء في أسعار الممنوعات المهربة أو في أسعار المواد المصرحة، أو المبالغ التي تطلب من أجل الحصول على بعض الخدمات والحقوق.

 

إن استهداف السجناء بالضرب والتعذيب ونقلهم للسجون الانفرادية بسبب تسجيلهم ونشرهم لمقاطع يؤكدون فيها على معاناتهم لهو دليل إضافي يضاف إلى دلالة رفض السلطات السماح للمقرر الخاص لشؤون الإرهاب وحقوق الإنسان لزيارة بعض السجون، ويضاف إلى عدد من الشهادات التي وثقتها القسط وغيرها ويتم نشرها من حين لآخر عن سوء حال السجون السعودية، وعدم جدية السلطات السعودية في حماية حياة وكرامة السجناء، وحرصها على تحسين بعض العنابر ليتم تخصيصها كسجون نموذجية للزائرين الذين لا يعرفون الهدف من الزيارة للسجون، ويقبلون أن تحدد لهم السلطات الزمان والمكان لزيارة السجون، ليكتبوا عن تلك السجون المعدة لمثل هذه الزيارات دون أن يعرفوا ما الذي يجري في أقبية السجون.

 

كما أن القسط تذكر السلطات أن الرصد والتوثيق لم يعد حكرًا على النشطاء، فهذا العمل الذي قام به السجناء هو عمل يصب في دعم وحماية حقوق الإنسان، فانعدام حرية العمل الحقوقي والمدني في الداخل جعل السجناء وضحايا الانتهاك هم بأنفسهم يوثقون وينشرون ما يتعرضون له، في خطوة رائدة ومتقدمة، كان يجب على السلطات أن تسعى لاحتوائها وحل الإشكال الذي وثقوه بدل قمعهم من جديد كما فعلت تفعل السلطات مع نشطاء حقوق الإنسان.

prisoners-tortured-for-posting-videos r

Print Friendly, PDF & Email