Eleven more executed in Saudi Arabia while Crown Prince was schmoozing Western allies

Eleven more executed in Saudi Arabia while Crown Prince was schmoozing Western allies

عربي

Crown Prince Mohamed bin Salman returns to Saudi Arabia this weekend at the end of a five-week, five-nation “charm offensive” aimed at selling a dubious image of modernisation and social reform at home, in exchange for diplomatic backing and multimillion-dollar trade deals.

Prince Mohamed is undoubtedly driving sweeping changes in the kingdom, but in terms of basic human rights and liberties, things that his Western hosts claim to value and champion elsewhere, there has been no sign of radical reform. During the Crown Prince’s absence – in Egypt, the UK, US, France and Spain – eleven more people were executed in the kingdom, five of them at judges’ individual discretion for non-violent crimes. Prisoners of conscience remain locked up – some of them tried and sentenced for peaceful human rights activism, others held arbitrarily for their academic or journalistic work or personal political views.

Mohamed bin Salman has delighted Westerners, whose governments eagerly supply his military with warplanes and other equipment, by promising that women will soon be allowed to drive in Saudi Arabia, the only country in the world where they cannot already do so. Meanwhile, Saudi women themselves are demanding an end to the male guardianship system that allows men to control the lives of their wives, daughters, sisters and mothers.

The Crown Prince’s PR gambit in the West, although lavishly financed and professionally executed, should not convince anyone, and indeed has not persuaded everyone, that he deserves their trust and praise. In Seattle, for example, where he attended the signing of a military aircraft maintenance deal with Boeing, the city’s mayor and the state governor were “too busy” to meet him, while local activists denounced him as “a war criminal” for launching deadly airstrikes that have created a humanitarian catastrophe in Yemen.

ALQST notes that it is a crime in Saudi Arabia, under the country’s Counter-terrorism law, to criticise the Crown Prince or his father, King Salman.

ALQST continues to call on the Saudi authorities to introduce genuine reforms that safeguard the civil, political and basic human rights of all citizens and residents; to release prisoners of conscience immediately and unconditionally; and to involve civil society in building a truly modern state of rights and institutions.

ALQST also urges the governments and peoples of the world to put moral values and human rights ahead of oil and weapons deals.

To learn more about the human rights situation in Saudi Arabia, see ALQST’s latest comprehensive report:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

أثناء جولة بن سلمان التوددية المثيرة، تصاعد مستمر للقمع والانتهاكات في البلاد

أثناء جولة بن سلمان التوددية المثيرة، تصاعد مستمر للقمع والانتهاكات في البلاد

English

عاد نهاية هذا الأسبوع ولي العهد السعودي إلى البلاد بعد جولة خمسة أسابيع شملت خمسة دول وتسويق رهيب، وكان واضحا من الزيارة أن هدفها الرئيس هو الترويج لصورة ولي العهد بأنه شخصية معتدلة وإصلاحية، وبناء علاقات دبلوماسية عبر صفقات ضخمة.

الأمير محمد بن سلمان – بلا شك – يقود تغييرات كثيرة في البلاد، ولكن فيما يتعلق بملفات حقوق الشعب، والإصلاح الحقيقي والحريات -وهي الملفات التي يدعي مضيفوه في الغرب أنهم يطبقونها يدعون إليها- فإنه بالنسبة لهذه الملفات لا وجود لتغير ولا تحسن حقيقي. ففي فترة زيارة ولي العهد لمصر وبريطانيا وأمريكا وفرنسا وإسبانيا، تم إعدام 11 شخصا في السعودية، خمسة منهم بحكم تقديري تعزيري من القاضي دون حد أو قصاص ولجرائم لا علاقة للعنف بها. كما أن معتقلي الرأي ودعاة الإصلاح الحقيقيون يقضون فترات عقوبة في السجون، بعضهم أكاديميون وصحفيون لم يقوموا بجرم إلا أن عبروا عن آرائهم بسلمية والبعض الآخر دعوا للإصلاح ولاحترام حقوق الإنسان فتم عقابهم.

السياسيون الغربيون الحريصون على توريد الأسلحة والمعدات للسعودية أبدوا سرورهم بوعود ولي العهد السعودي بالسماح للمرأة بقيادة السيارة، مع أن السعودية هي البلد الوحيد في العالم الذي يمنع المرأة من قيادة السيارة. وفي الوقت ذاته وعلى أرض الواقع لا زالت المرأة السعودية تطالب بإنهاء الأنظمة السعودية التي تقيد حياتها بنظام سعودي يسمح للولي التحكم في حياة المرأة دون وجه حق.

كان يجب ألا يتأثر الجميع ويخدعوا بحملات العلاقات العامة الترويجية لمحمد بن سلمان والممولة بشكل مسرف ولافت للنظر، وبالفعل فإن الكثيرين لم يعجبهم ولم يقعوا في الثقة ولا المجاملات، فقد كانت المظاهرات وجها آخر لاستقباله في عدد من الدول، وفي سياتل على سبيل المثال التي زارها لتوقيع صفقات صيانة لطائرات البوينغ، رفض حاكم واشنطن وعمدة سياتل استقباله، كما كان النشطاء يحتجون على جرائم الحرب في اليمن ويحتجون على الهجمات المدمرة لليمن ويصفون ولي العهد السعودي بـ”مجرم الحرب”.

وقد وضحت القسط أن نقد ولي العهد محمد بن سلمان أو والده يعد جريمة إرهابية في السعودية، وذلك وفق ما ينص عليه قانون مكافحة الإرهاب الجديد، المادة 30 والمقر في الثاني من نوفمبر الماضي.

كما تواصل القسط دعواتها للسلطات السعودية إلى التوجه حقيقة للإصلاح الحقيقي بدل بذل الأموال في الدعايات وشراء الذمم والتحالفات مع استمرار القمع والانتهاكات، فعليها أن تتجه حقيقة لإصلاح يضمن الحقوق المدنية والسياسية، ويضمن حقوق الإنسان الأساسية لكل المواطنين والمقيميين، ويبدأ ذلك بالإفراج الفوري وغير المشروط عن جميع معتقلي الرأي، والسماح للمجتمع المدني بالمشاركة لبناء دولة مدنية حقيقية لتكون دولة حقوق ومؤسسات وليست دولة قمع وفساد واستبداد.
كما تدعو القسط السلطات والعالم إلى تقديم القيم والحقوق والعدالة قبل المصالح والمنافع الشخصية والصفقات والعلاقات.

*وللقراءة أكثر حول الشأن الحقوقي في السعودية، تفضلوا بقراءة ملخص العام المنصرم المقدم من رصد وتوثيق القسط.

 

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email