On Thursday 18 July, a UK parliamentary debate was held in Westminster Hall on the topic of “Human Rights in Saudi Arabia and the detention of opponents of the regime“. During the debate, there was a broad consensus that the human rights situation in Saudi Arabia has become worse since the accession of King Salman and the increase in power of Crown Prince Mohammad bin Salman, with MPs noting the waves of arbitrary arrests, torture of detainees and unfair trials, the brutal murder of journalist Jamal Khashoggi, and mass executions and those currently facing the death penalty. In light of this, there were calls on the UK government to do more, including announcing the next steps to ensure accountability for the murder of Jamal Khashoggi, end arms sales to Saudi Arabia, and make urgent representations with Saudi Arabia on human rights issues, including to commute the death sentences of those currently on death row. 

The debate can we read in full here, you can watch it here, and a summary can be read below. Ahead of the debate, ALQST made a brief outlining our calls and giving some background to the situation.  

Liberal Democrat MP Alistair Marmichael, who secured the debate

The debate began with Liberal Democrat MP Alistair Carmichael, who secured the debate, saying, “when I look at Saudi Arabia today I see a bad human rights situation, and I regret to say that it is getting worse”. He focused on three issues in particular: firstly, detainees still being held arbitrarily following the mass arrests on 4 November 2017. Secondly, those currently in detention facing possible capital punishment, including three who were under 18 at the time of the alleged crimes, Ali al-Nimr, Abdullah al-Zaher and Dawoud al-Marhoon, calling on the UK to make urgent representations to ensure that they will have their sentences commuted and receive a full pardon. And thirdly, the UK’s funding in Saudi Arabia, calling on the UK to commit to publishing information on all programmes currently engaging with Saudi Arabia. 

Conservative MP John Howell focused on the issue of foreign workers, particularly of women, in Saudi Arabia, which he described as a state of “modern slavery”. He mentioned the “kafala system” which “does not provide any substance of protection for the women there”, and that ”the owners remain responsible for the visas and residence status of the women for the duration of their stay”. As such, “many foreign workers in Saudi Arabia report abuse, but they are not allowed to change employer or, indeed, to leave the country without the written consent of their employer.” 

Labour MP and Vice Chair of the APPG on Democracy and Human Rights in the Gulf Andy Slaughter said that “it is undoubtedly true that the situation has become worse since the accession of King Salman and the increase in power of Crown Prince Mohammad bin Salman”.  Outlining this case, he mentioned the arrest, detention and torture of women human rights defenders, the brutal murder of Jamal Khashoggi, and the treatment of the Shi’a minority population, “with many people put on trial on trumped-up and vague charges, and put to death”. He also discussed the UK’s training of Saudi military and police personnel:  “there is no sign that the engagement is in any way mitigating or addressing the way in which the Saudi authorities operate, so in effect we are colluding.”

Conservative MP Crispin Blunt mentioned his role as a member of the Detention Review Panel (DRP), which was mandated to review the conditions of Saudi women’s rights activists. “I was disappointed that the Saudi Government did not welcome independent oversight of the detainees’ conditions in detention”, he said. While he defended the UK’s current engagement with Saudi Arabia, he admitted that developments over past two years within Saudi Arabia, including the execution of the 37 and the detention of the women detainees “have been profoundly disappointing”. “There is a wretched contradiction between the recent societal liberalisation in Saudi Arabia and the detention of the people who campaigned for those changes.”

Labour MP Catherine West mentioned the House of Representatives voting last week (by 238 to 190 votes) to block the sale of precision-guided munitions to Saudi Arabia being used in the war in Yemen. “There are lessons there for our [the UK’s] sales regime”. She reiterated her concern over the  treatment of young people in detention, particularly the lack of legal representation, the use of false confessions and their execution. On the murder of Jamal Khashoggi, describing the way his body was “chopped up into small pieces and melted down using some type of acid”, she said “it does not get any worse than that, and yet the Saudis are our allies and friends”. She made a strong call for the UK, in light of UN Special Rapporteur Agnes Callamard’s report on the killing, to do more. “Will the UK join the UN in asking questions about its next steps?”

SNP MP Joanna Cherry discussed the abuse of women in particular. She mentioned the abusive male guardianship system, “which remains intact despite pledges by the Saudi Arabian Government to abolish it”. And she described the wave of arrests last year of prominent women’s rights activists, the brutal torture many of them faced, including Loujain al-Hathloul who bore “black scars on her thighs that had been caused by electric shocks”, and who are now being charged with contacting foreign activists and international media. The way the Saudi authorities treat women  and girls reflect “the way that [they] treat journalists, the rights to freedom of speech and freedom of expression, and religious minorities” she said. 

Labour MP Fabian Hamilton gave a broad overview of the human rights situation, including the mass execution of 37 men that took place on 23 April, the murder of journalist Jamal Khashoggi, women’s rights, repressive laws and the restrictive Specialised Criminal Court (SCC) that has “been used to arrest and prosecute many human rights defenders”. He criticised the UK “continuing to give assistance to Saudi Arabia despite a deepening crackdown on dissent”.

Finally, Minister of State at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and the Department for International Development Andrew Murrison, responded on behalf of the government. He said that the UK’s “extensive ties with Saudi Arabia give us an effective platform to raise our concerns and to encourage human rights progress”, and that UK’s engagement with Saudi Arabia is, “in general, positive”. 

On human rights issues. He described the murder of Jamal Khashoggi, “whose brutal murder and dismemberment truly sickened the world” and looks forward to seeing “details of what happened being made public and explicit very soon”. He described the lack of transparency around the anti-corruption campaign as a “cause for concern”, and the use of the SCC as “a source of frustration”. 

On what the UK government is doing about it, that “the Prime Minister and the Foreign Secretary have spoken to the Saudi Government about a number of the cases mentioned today”. And he mentioned the UK’s role at the UN Human Rights Council, including raising its concerns during the UN universal periodic review of Saudi Arabia’s human rights record in November 2018 and March 2019, and at the latest UN human rights council session in June, which focused on Jamal Khashoggi, setting out “our expectation for a transparent judicial process and urged Saudi Arabia to take steps to ensure that such crimes will not happen again”.

He concluded that “we [the UK] will continue to work with like-minded Governments and organisations, and with human rights defenders, to engage with the Saudi Arabian Government to bring about positive change and to promote and defend universal freedoms.”

ALQST would like to thank all MPs who attended and spoke in the debate, and especially Alistair Carmichael who secured it. There was a broad consensus, even among government figures, that the human rights situation in Saudi Arabia has deteriorated in recent years, since the ascension of King Salman in 2015 and the increasing power of his son Mohamed bin Salman since 2017. ALQST have been reporting this for some time, and in our latest Annual Report, we described the human rights situation as at an “all-time low”. 

There was greater difference of opinion in terms of the UK’s role, and what the government ought to be doing. ALQST echo sentiments raised by some MPs that in light of the human rights crisis in Saudi Arabia, the UK must use its leverage more forcibly and publically. The UK’s quietist, behind the door approach, in conjunction with ongoing security and military support, largely serves to give a green light to the Saudi authorities to continue committing human rights abuses. 

As was noted in the debate, the Saudi authorities take heed and respond to international pressure and criticism, and that the UK has significant leverage over Saudi Arabia. As such, the UK government can take a leading role, to secure justice for Jamal Khashoggi, create a UN oversight mechanism over the situation in Saudi Arabia, and make urgent representations with the Saudi authorities on human rights issues, including to immediately and unconditionally release all individuals detained for exercising their fundamental freedoms and establishing a moratorium on the use of the death penalty. 

Categories: News

في الثلثاء من 18 يوليو، عقدت جلسة نقاش برلمانية في قاعة وستمنستر حول موضوع “حقوق الإنسان في السعودية واحتجاز معارضي النظام”. كان هنالك توافقٌ عام في النقاش حول استياء حالة حقوق الإنسان في السعودية منذ تولي الملك سلمان الحكم وتزايد نفوذ ابنه ولي العهد محمد بن سلمان. تحدث أعضاء البرلمان عن حملات الاعتقال التعسفية، وتعذيب المعتقلين، والمحاكمات غير العادلة، والقتل الوحشي للصحفي جمال خاشقجي، والإعدامات الجماعية، وتحدثوا أيضًا عن المعتقلين تعسفيًا أو بتهمٍ فضفاضة وما يزالون يواجهون عقوبة الإعدام. في ضوء هذا كله، كانت هنالك مطالبات بأن تتخذ الحكومة البريطانية دورًا فاعلًا تجاه هذه القضايا، بما يتضمن إعلان الخطوات التالية لضمان محاسبة المسؤولين عن قتل جمال خاشقجي، وإنهاء بيع الأسلحة إلى السعودية، والإسراع بالقيام بمحادثات مع السعودية حول مواضيع حقوق الإنسان، بما في ذلك مطالبتها بإسقاط عقوبة الإعدام عن هؤلاء المعتقلين.

يمكن قراءة النقاش بالكامل (إنجليزي) هنا، أو مشاهدته هنا (إنجليزي)، أو قراءة ملخص (إنجليزي) أعدته القسط عن الجلسة. قبل النقاش، ألقت القسط كلمة قصيرة تلخص أهم مطالبنا وتوفر معلومات المرجعية حول الوضع الحالي.

بدأ النقاش بكلمة من النائب أليستير كارمايكل من الحزب الديموقراطي الليبرالي، وقد أدار النقاش، وتضمن ما قاله: “حين أنظر للسعودية اليوم أرى وضعًا سيئًا لحقوق الإنسان، وأشعر بالأسى حين أقول إنه يستمر في الاستياء”. ركز النائب كارمايكل على ثلاث مسائل تحديدًا: أولًا، المحتجزين تعسفيًا أثناء حملة الاعتقال الجماعية في 4 نوفمبر 2017. ثانيًا، المعتقلين الذين يواجهون عقوبة الإعدام، من ضمنهم ثلاثة كان عمرهم أقل من 18 وقت وقوع الجرائم المتهمين بارتكابها، وهم علي النمر وعبد الله الزاهر وداوود المرهون، مناشدًا الحكومة البريطانية بالإسراع بمخاطبة السلطات السعودية لضمان تخفيف أحكامهم أو منحهم عفوًا شاملًا. ثالثًا، تحدث النائب عن التمويل البريطاني في السعودية، مناشدًا الحكومة البريطانية بالالتزام بنشر كافة المعلومات حول البرامج الناشطة حاليًا مع السعودية.

ركز النائب جون هويل، من حزب المحافظين،على قضية العمال الأجانب في السعودية، النساء منهم تحديدًا، حيث وصف حالتهن بأنها تشكل “عبودية حديثة”. ذكر النائب هويل “نظام الكفالة” الذي “لا يوفر أي حماية تذكر للنساء هناك”، وأضاف أن “المُلّاك يظلون مسؤولين عن تأشيرة وإقامة النساء طوال فترة إقامتهن”، وبالتالي “العديد من العمال الأجانب يرفعون بلاغاتٍ بالمعاملة التعسفية، لكنهم لا يسمح لهم بتغيير أرباب العمل، بل أسوء من ذلك، لا يسمح لهم مغادرة البلاد دون موافقة نصية من رب العمل”.

قال النائب آندي سلوتر، من حزب العمال، وهو نائب رئيس “الفريق البرلماني المعني بالديموقراطية وحقوق الإنسان في الخليج”: “حقًا وبلا شك أن الوضع استاء، منذ تولي منذ تولي الملك سلمان العرش وازدياد قوة ولي العهد محمد بن سلمان”. ذكر النائب سلوتر اعتقال المدافعات عن حقوق الإنسان وما تعرضن له من احتجازٍ وتعذيب، والقتل الوحشي للصحفي جمال خاشقجي، والمعاملة التي يتلقاها الشيعة كأمثلة على استياء وضع حقوق الإنسان في السعودية، وذكر ما يجري من المحاكمات بتهمٍ “مبالغة ومبهمة” تؤدي إلى الإعدام. وناقش أيضًا تدريب بريطانيا للجيش والشرطة السعودية: “لا يوجد أي دليل على أن انخراطنا هنا يخفف أو يتصدى بأي شكل من الأشكال لطريقة عمل السلطات السعودية، وبالتالي نحن نتواطأ في ذلك”.

ذكر النائب كريسبين بلنت، من الحزب المحافظ، دوره كعضو في فريق مراجعة الاحتجاز، ومهمته مراجعة ظروف احتجاز ناشطات حقوق الإنسان السعوديات، وقال إن “رفضَ الحكومة السعودية الترحيب برقابة مستقلة على ظروف احتجاز المعتقالات كان أمرًا مخيبًا”، بينما دافع عن انخراط بريطانيا الحالي مع السعودية، مقرًا بأن التطورات التي حصلت خلال السنتين الماضيتين في البلاد، من ضمنها إعدام الـ 37 واحتجاز الناشطات، “كانت حقًا مخيبة للآمال”. “هنالك تناقضٌ بائس بين عملية التحرر الاجتماعي في السعودية واحتجاز الناس التي كانت تعمل تجاه هذه التغييرات”.

ذكرت النائبة كاثرين ويست، من حزب العمال، تصويت مجلس النواب (بأصوات 238 مع مقابل 190 ضد) لمنع بيع الذخائر دقيقة التوجيه إلى السعودية لاستعمالها في الحرب في اليمن، وقالت: “هنالك دروس يجب أن نتعلمها فيما يتعلق بنظامنا لتجارة الأسلحة”. عبرت النائبة ويست عن قلقها مرةً أخرى حول معاملة صغار السن في السجون، خصوصًا حرمانهم من التمثيل قانوني، واستخدام الاعترافات الزائفة لتبرير الإعدام. وتحدثت عن بقتل جمال خاشقجي، واصفةً ما تعرض له من “تقطيع جسده إلى أجزاء صغيرة وتذويبها بنوع من أنواع الأحماض”، وقالت إن “هذا أسوء حالٍ ممكن” معبرةً عن تعجبها من أن السعودية “رغم ذلك حليفتنا وصديقتنا”. وناشدت الحكومة البريطانية، على ضوء تقرير المقرر الخاص للأمم المتحدة أغنيس كالاماردحول مقتل خاشقجي، بلعب دورٍ فاعل. “هل ستنضم بريطانيا للأمم المتحدة في طرح الأسئلة حول الخطوات التالية؟”

ناقشت النائبة جوانا تشيري،من الحزب الوطني الأسكتلندي، سوء المعاملة الذي يطال النساء تحديدًا. ذكرت نظام ولاية الرجل على المرأة، “الذي ما زال قائمًا رغم وعود الحكومة السعودية بإلغائه”. وتحدثت النائبة تشيري عن حملة الاعتقالات العام الماضي لناشطات حقوق المرأة البارزات، والتعذيب الوحشي الذي تعرضت له عديدٌ منهن، مثل لجين الهذلول التي حملت “ندبات سوداء على فخذيها سببتها صعقاتٌ كهربائية”، وعن الاتهامات الموجهة إليهن اليوم، بالتواصل مع نشطاء أجانب والإعلام الدولي. وأضافت، إن الطريقة التي تعامل فيها السلطات النساء والفتيات تعكس “الطريقة التي تعامل فيها الصحفيين، والحق في حرية الرأي وحرية التعبير، والأقليات الدينية”.

قدم النائب فابيان هاميلتونمن حزب العمال نظرة عامة على حالة حقوق الإنسان، بما في ذلك الإعدام الجماعي لـ 37 الذي جرى في 23 أبريل، وقتل الصحفي جمال خاشقجي، وحقوق المرأة، والقوانين القمعية والمحكمة الجزائية المختصة المتشددة التي “استخدمت لاعتقال ومحاكمة العديد من المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان”. انتقد هاميلتونالحكومة البريطانية “للاستمرار في مساعدة السعودية رغم القمع المتزايد على المعارضين”.

أخيرًا، قام وزير الدولة في وزارة الخارجية وشؤون الكومنولث ووزارة التنمية الدولية أندرو موريسون بالرد بالنيابة عن الحكومة البريطانية، حيث قال: “علاقاتنا القوية مع السعودية أعطتنا منصة فعالة للتعبير عما يقلقنا وللتشجيع على الرقي بحقوق الإنسان” وأن انخراط بريطانيا مع السعودية “إيجابي، عمومًا”.

فيما يتعلق مسائل حقوق الإنسان، قال عن جمال خاشقجي: “كان قتله الوحشي وتقطيعه أمرًا فظيعًا للعالم كله” وأضاف أنه يأمل بأن “يعلن عن تفاصيل ما جرى بصراحة وبسرعة”. وصف موريسون انعدام الشفافية في حملة مكافحة الفساد بأنه “باعث بالقلق” واستخدام المحكمة الجزائية المختصة بأنه “مصدر للإحباط”.

فيما يتعلق بما يمكن للحكومة البريطانية القيام به حيال ذلك، قال إن “رئيس الوزراء ووزير الخارجية تحدثا مع الحكومة السعودية حول عددٍ من القضايا المذكورة اليوم”، وَذَكر دور بريطانيا في مجلس حقوق الإنسان التابع للأمم المتحدة، بما في ذلك حديثها عن هذه المواضيع المقلقة أثناء المراجعة الدورية العامة للأمم المتحدة لسجل السعودية في حقوق الإنسان في نوفمبر 2018 ومارس 2019، وفي جلسة مجلس حقوق الإنسان الأخيرة في يونيو، التي ركزت على جمال خاشقجي، إذ عبرنا “عن أملنا في عملية قضائية شفافة وحثينا السعودية على اتخاذ خطوات لضمان أن مثل هذه الجرائم لن تتكرر”.

ختم موريسونقائلًا: “سنستمر بالعمل مع الحكومات والمنظمات ذات الميول المشتركة، ومع المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان، للانخراط مع الحكومة السعودية للحث على التغييرات الإيجابية والتنمية والدفاع عن الحريات العامة”.

تود القسط أن تشكر كل النواب الذين حضروا وتحدثوا في النقاش، وبالخصوص النائب أليستير كارمايكلالذي أداره. كان هنالك توافقٌ عام، حتى عند المسؤولين الحكوميين، حول تدهور حالة حقوق الإنسان في السعودية في السنوات الأخيرة، منذ تولي الملك سلمان إلى الحكم في 2015 وزيادة قوة ابنه محمد بن سلمان منذ 2017. كانت القسط وما تزال تنشر التقارير والأخبار حول هذا الوضع، وفي تقريرنا السنوي الأخير، وصفنا حالة حقوق الإنسان بأنها في “أسوء مراحلها”.

كان هنالك اختلافٌ كبير فيما يتعلق بدور بريطانيا، وما يجب على الحكومة فعله. تشدد القسط على ما قاله بعض النواب حول كون أزمة حقوق الإنسان في السعودية يجب أن تحث بريطانيا على الضغط على السلطات السعودية علانية. إن منهج الحكومة البريطانية الحالي المتسم بالصمت والحديث ما وراء الأبواب المغلقة، مع استمرار الدعم الأمني والعسكري، يعمل كضوءٍ أخضر للسلطات السعودية للاستمرار في انتهاك حقوق الإنسان.

كما لوحِظ في النقاش، تنتبه السلطات السعودية وتستجيب للضغط والنقد الدولي، مما يعني أن الضغط الدولي يمكن أن يساعد في تحسين حالة حقوق الإنسان في البلاد. بالتالي، يمكن للحكومة البريطانية أن تلعب دورًا رياديًا، وتساعد في ضمان تحقيق العدالة في قضية جمال خاشقجي، وتأسيس آليات رقابية تابعة للأمم المتحدة على الوضع في السعودية، والضغط على السلطات السعودية لتحسين أوضاع حقوق الإنسان، بما يشمل الإفراج عن كل معتقلي الرأي، بما يشمل المدافعات عن حقوق الإنسان، وتعليق استخدام عقوبة الإعدام.

Categories: أخبار