December 3, 2016 – International Day of Persons with Disabilities

December 3, 2016 – International Day of Persons with Disabilities
الثالث من ديسمبر 2016، اليوم العالمي لذوي الإعاقة

pic-disabilities-2016

‘A prison without bars’: living with disabilities in Saudi Arabia

December 3, 2016 – International Day of Persons with Disabilities

 

The Saudi government is failing to meet its obligations to the kingdom’s disabled citizens. Service provision is underfunded and inadequate, and the rights to dignity, equality and access to participation in society are barely addressed.  As the United Nations marks the tenth anniversary of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities – to which Saudi Arabia signed up in 2008 – ALQST reports on disability rights in the country, in theory and on the ground.

Research on disability-related issues in Saudi Arabia is limited. Data is scarce and incomplete, but the King Salman Centre for Disability Research says that around 10% of the nearly five million students enrolled in Saudi schools – that is, up to 500,000 children – may have learning disabilities. Estimates for the total number of people with disabilities across the kingdom have ranged from one to over four million, depending on the definitions used. Major causes of disability in Saudi Arabia are cerebral palsy, road traffic accidents, strokes, and genetic disorders associated with the prevalence of first-cousin marriages.

The government has policies and laws supporting the equal rights of people with disabilities, but they are underresourced and not implemented effectively.  The actual provision of services is poor, and it is often difficult to find the specialised care many disabled people need.  There is a shortage of capacity in rehabilitation hospitals and specialised rehabilitation units, and the facilities are substandard. In 2012 a series of scandals concerning the abuse of disabled children and adults in government rehabilitation centres led to an investigation by the Ministry of Social Affairs, the sacking of some care workers, and pledges to increase levels of oversight.

One source told ALQST that the standard of health care and medical services on offer at government rehabilitation centres is abysmal, and the only high-quality provision available is from a few, hugely expensive, private providers. The tight restrictions on civil society, voluntary or charitable activities leave people with disabilities almost nowhere else to turn for affordable support.

In his message for this year’s International Day of Persons with Disabilities, UN Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon urges governments, businesses and everyone else to work to end discrimination and remove the “obstacles that prevent persons with disabilities from enjoying their civil, political, economic, social and cultural rights” – rights that in Saudi Arabia are also routinely denied to the population as a whole. 

The Disability Code introduced in Saudi Arabia in 2000 ignored these rights, however, and focused only on disability prevention, welfare and habilitation – along with detailed plans for a bureaucracy to coordinate these services. It completely overlooked the vital issues of dignity, accessibility and the right to participate in all aspects of society on an equal basis with others. Yet the denial of these fundamental rights creates further obstacles to a decent life, and is disabling in itself.

A man in Riyadh, describing his own experience, told ALQST that living with a disability in Saudi Arabia is like being in a prison without bars.  Even in the capital, he said, the pavements are impossible to navigate, and shops, cafés and restaurants, 90% of mosques, schools and most universities do not have disabled access.  As a result, people with disabilities and mobility issues are forced to stay shut in at home and become totally isolated from their communities and the world outside.

The situation is scarcely any better for people with sensory disabilities, like hearing and visual impairments. A mother with two such disabled children told ALQST that there had been no support for her in coping with her children’s special needs, and she had struggled to get them accepted into schools. Their impairments were not severe enough for them to be sent to a special school for blind or deaf children, but the teachers at their mainstream schools had no training and little understanding of how to deal with them – and not much sympathy either.

In 2015 the government announced a new initiative to integrate children with disabilities into mainstream education, in line with international best practice.  However, rights activists in Saudi Arabia say schools do not always cooperate with the Education Ministry’s directions in this regard, and sometimes simply pocket the extra budget they now get for enrolling students with special needs.

There are isolated examples of progress on the disabilities front, in King Saud University’s Special Education Department, for example.  But overall, the authorities’ failure and lack of will to implement the laws they themselves pass, and to meet their obligations under the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, reflects badly on a country that is blessed with the resources to do so much more for its disabled citizens – and, on a mutual and equal basis, all the citizens and residents of the kingdom.

Download English pdf

تحميل pdf عربي

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

الثالث من ديسمبر 2016، اليوم العالمي لذوي الإعاقة

الثالث من ديسمبر 2016، اليوم العالمي لذوي الإعاقة
December 3, 2016 – International Day of Persons with Disabilities

screen-shot-2016-12-03-at-1-28-25-pm

“أن تكون معاقًا في السعودية،

قد يكون كأن تكون سجينًا بلا قضبان”

الثالث من ديسمبر 2016، اليوم العالمي لذوي الإعاقة

 

فشلت السلطات السعودية في الوفاء بالتزاماتها تجاه المواطنين المعاقين في المملكة والخدمات غير كافية،  وتعاني نقصا في التمويل، ولم يعطوا حقهم بشكل كافي  في الكرامة والمساواة والحصول على المشاركة في المجتمع، كما تحتفل الأمم المتحدة بالذكرى السنوية العاشرة لاتفاقية حقوق الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة – التي وقعت عليها المملكة العربية السعودية في عام 2008 – القسط تلقي الضوء على حقوق الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة في البلاد، من الناحية النظرية، وعلى أرض الواقع.

الأبحاث المستقلة محدودة في القضايا المتعلقة بالإعاقة في المملكة العربية السعودية، كما أن البيانات شحيحة وغير مكتملة، ولكن مركز الملك سلمان لأبحاث الإعاقة يقول أن حوالي 10٪ من ما يقرب من خمسة ملايين طالب مسجلين في المدارس السعودية – وهذا يعني أن ما يصل إلى 500،000 طفل – قد يعانون من إعاقات التعلم، وتراوحت تقديرات للعدد الإجمالي للأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة في جميع أنحاء المملكة إلى ماقد يزيد عن الأربعة ملايين، وهذا ما يتوقف على التعاريف المستخدمة لوصف الإعاقة، وتعد الأسباب الرئيسية للإعاقة في المملكة العربية السعودية هي الشلل الدماغي، وحوادث المرور على الطرق، والسكتات الدماغية، والأمراض الوراثية المرتبطة بالزواج بين الأقارب من الدرجة الأولى.

ومع أن السلطات السعودية قد أقرت سياسات وقوانين تدعم المساواة في الحقوق للأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة، إلا أنها تفتقر للتطبيق ولآليات العمل الحقيقي على الأرض، ولا يتم تمويل ودعم هذه الأنظمة بشكل فعال. فالخدمات المقدمة على الأرض هي منقوصة بشكل رهيب، وغالبا ما يكون من الصعب جدًا لعدد كبير من المعاقين الحصول على الرعاية المخصصة لهم. كما أن هنالك نقص في القدرات في المستشفيات على توفير وحدات متخصصة في إعادة التأهيل، والمرافق غالبًا دون المستوى المطلوب. وفي عام 2012 أدت سلسلة من الفضائح المتعلقة بالاعتداء على الأطفال والبالغين المعاقين في مراكز التأهيل الحكومية إلى إجراء تحقيق من قبل وزارة الشؤون الاجتماعية، وإقالة بعض العاملين في مجال الرعاية، وقدمت تعهدات بزيادة مستويات الرقابة ولكن دون تطور ملحوظ.

وقال مصدر للقسط أن مستوى الرعاية الصحية والخدمات الطبية وفي مراكز التأهيل الحكومية هو غاية في السوء، وعدد محدود جدًا من المراكز التي تقدم رعاية لائقة، أما المراكز الخاصة فهي مكلفة للغاية وغير مناسبة إطلاقٍا لذوي الدخل المتوسط، كما أن القيود المشددة على المجتمع المدني، وتدخل السلطة المكثف على عمل الجمعيات أثر بشكل ملحوظ على عدم وجود مراكز مستقلة تمامًا ومتقدمة لمساعدة ذوي الإعاقة.

الأمين العام للأمم المتحدة بان كي مون في رسالته هذا العام بمناسبة اليوم العالمي لذوي الإعاقة حث الحكومات والشركات والجميع للعمل من أجل وضع حد للتمييز وإزالة “العقبات التي تمنع الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة من التمتع بحقوقهم المدنية والسياسية ومن الحقوق الاقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية “- هذه الحقوق التي يحرم منها الكل في المملكة العربية السعودية.

نظام رعاية المعوقين في المملكة العربية السعودية الذي صدر بموجب المرسوم الملكي بالرقم (م/37) والتاريخ 23/9/1421هـ (2000) تجاهل هذه الحقوق بشكل كامل، وركز فقط على الوقاية من الإعاقة والرعاية والتأهيل – مع خطط مفصلة بيروقراطية لتنسيق هذه الخدمات، وأغفل تماما القضايا المتعلقة بكرامة ذوي الإعاقة، وسهولة الوصول والحق في المشاركة في جميع المناحي الاجتماعية على قدم المساواة مع الآخرين، وبهذا فإن الحرمان من هذه الحقوق الأساسية يخلق مزيدا من العقبات في حياة كريمة، وتعطيل في حد ذاته.

في الرياض العاصمة التي تحظى بخدمات أفضل من المناطق الأخرى، يقول شاهد للقسط واصفا تجربته الخاصة، أن العيش مع الإعاقة في المملكة العربية السعودية مثل أن يكون الإنسان في سجن حقيقي ولكن دون قضبان، حتى في العاصمة، وقال: من المستحيل التنقل عبر الأرصفة، وكذلك الذهاب إلى المحلات التجارية والمقاهي والمطاعم، و 90٪ من المساجد والمدارس ومعظم الجامعات لا يستطيع المعاق الوصول إليها بمفرده، ونتيجة لذلك، يضطر الناس ذوي الإعاقة المتعلقة بالحركة إلى الإغلاق على أنفسهم في المنازل والعزلة عن مجتمعاتهم والعالم الخارجي.

كما أن الوضع ليس أفضل بكثير لذوي الإعاقات الحسية، مثل الإعاقات السمعية والبصرية، أمٌ لاثنين من هؤلاء الأطفال المعاقين قالت للقسط، أنها لم تتلق أي دعم للتعامل مع الاحتياجات الخاصة لطفليها، وقالت إنها وجدت صعوبة في تعليمهم وأن البعض يجد صعوبة في الحصول على قبول في المدارس، وأضافت أن إعاقتهما ليست شديدة ليلتحقوا بالمدارس الخاصة بالصم والعمي، ولكن الطاقم التعليمي في المدارس الحكومية لم يتم تدريبهم وتأهيلهم للتعامل مع هذه الحالات، وهم أيضًا يعانون في التعامل مع حالات ليست من اختصاصهم، بعض المعلمين يتعامل معهم وفق عواطفه وقيمه، ولكن البعض الآخر قد لا يستحضر هذه العواطف والقيم في حين لايوجد تدريب وليس هذا من تخصصه.

وفي العام 2015 أعلنت السلطات السعودية عن مبادرة جديدة لدمج الأطفال المعاقين في مدارس التعليم العام، وذلك تمشيًا مع النظام التعليمي العالمي المتطور، ومع هذا، فإن نشطاء حقوق الإنسان في المملكة العربية السعودية يؤكدون أن المدارس لا تطبق التعليمات المعلنة من وزارة التربية والتعليم في هذا الصدد، ويواجه الأطفال صعوبات وتعقيدات يكونون فيها ضحية لخلل إداري ومالي.

وهناك أمثلة من التقدم لدى بعض الجهات للتعامل مع ذوي الإعاقة، ومن ذلك ماسجل من تقدم في قسم التربية الخاصة بجامعة الملك سعود، على سبيل المثال. ولكن عموما، تقاعس السلطات وعدم وجود إرادة واضحة لتنفيذ القوانين التي أقرتها السلطات، أو إلى الوفاء بالتزاماتها بموجب اتفاقية حقوق الأشخاص ذوي الإعاقة التي انضمت لها، يعكس حجم إخفاق السلطات في إعطاء ذوي الإعاقة بعض حقوقهم مع توفر الموارد والقدرة الاقتصادية لدعم هذه الشريحة الهامة من المواطنين، ليحصلوا على الأقل على حياة متساوية مع بقية المواطنين والمقيمين في المملكة وإن كانت الحقوق بشكل كامل منتقصة للجميع إلا أن المعاقين يعانون أكثر من غيرهم.

 

تحميل pdf عربي

Download English pdf

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email